Tofu

OK…I admit it…I’m afraid of tofu.  As a little girl my family did not even eat tomatoes or rice…apparently they were too, out there, for my mom.  Needless to say it takes some courage on my part to try new foods.  I of course eat tomatoes and rice now that I am an adult, but there is still a lingering cautiousness when I stare down a new food.  I want my children to grow up with a more varied and healthy diet…not just the meat and potatoes of my childhood. I find that trying a new dish at a friend’s house, or somewhere it would be rude to not try it, is the best way for me to try something new.  This does not mean that I have not slipped some half eaten morsel into my purse while no one was watching…well I hope.

I once went to the wedding of some close friends of mine that were being married in a Sikh temple.  Near the end of the ceremony a few people went around passing out something that we were suppose to eat…I equated it with christian communion…so, of course, I had to partake.  An enormous…well it seemed huge at the time…ball of some glutinous substance was plotted into my hand, I smile and nodded thanks…my heart and stomach were already in my throat.  I was the only,”white girl,” in the room besides the bride, so all eyes were on me to see what I was going to do.  I smile and began to eat…it was all I could do not to retch…the taste, the texture…I had nothing in my experience to compare it to.  So I slipped my hand into my purse…it was stuck to my hand!…quickly I said a prayer…’Please God release this stuff from my hand before I die of embarrassment.”  A little shake and the mound was released from my hand…Thank you God…yes, the purse went into the garbage, hideous food and all.

So it goes without saying that I am going to have some trouble getting tofu into our diet.  I have no doubt that there will be more interesting experiences in front of me.  The trick is to find the humourous side of the situation, and not let yourself be scared off of trying new foods.  I let you know how things are going…

God Bless

Julia (the meat and potatoes girl)

 

Leave a Reply

