Over the Rainbow

If you know anyone who is part of the LGBTQ community…lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender/transexual, and queer…then you know what the rainbow symbol means to this community.  If not, I’ll explain…a rainbow colored flag was first used in 1978 to represent the gay community at a pride parade.  Since then, the rainbow has been the visual symbol of the LGBTQ community.  Most of my friends would tell you that they have a love/hate relationship with the rainbow…some are really OVER the rainbow.  Love or hate it, at least it is an international symbol that transcends culture and language to represent people all over the world.

This being said…I have been invited to sell my art work at the pride festivities this year in my city.  I have tried selling my work to my community before and have shied away from using the rainbow…all I got for my efforts were quizzical looks and the question, “don’t you have anything with rainbows?” So I have set to work making jewelry and other glass items with rainbows all over them…this better work because purple glass is REALLY expensive.

My family looks forward to Pride Week all year.  We are always in the parade as my wife and I are active members of several organizations that cater to the gay community.  Our daughter every year takes weeks to plan her outfit for the parade…being a princess, and 10 years old, she thinks the parade is about dressing up and wearing tons of bling…she will figure it out soon enough.

Leave a Reply

