Joseph

Time to introduce my step-children.  The oldest of our five children is Joseph.  He has a habit of sort of disappearing for a few weeks at a time and then he will show up on our doorstep with a big smile and hugs.  I think Joe is the most sensitive of all our sons…I’ve seen him brought to tears..I  haven’t seen the other two shed even one tear since the beginning of puberty.  When he makes a mistake…as we all do…it seems to take him a little longer to get his bearings and move on. 

I wonder sometimes if it because when my wife divorced, the judge decided that it would be a good idea to give one son to the father the other to their mother.  Until then the two boys had been together with their mother…who takes a twelve-year-old boy away from the only home he as ever known!  From that moment on he has suffered from terrible bouts of depression.

My prayer for him is that he will be able to develop a stronger sence of self as he goes through his twenties.  I pray that he will be able to get to know his son, William, even better.  He has been estranged from him through little fault of his own.  I worry about him more than the other boys…the other two would be able to cross the Sahara with nothing but a toothpick and an elastic band, ultimate survivors is what I call them.  then again maybe Joseph is the survivor having withstood the challenges life has brought him.

God Bless

Julia

Leave a Reply

