The Canning Begins

My family, including me, has a sweet tooth.  They love jam, especially berry jams.  So today was the first day of the 2012 jam canning season.  First up, strawberry jam…nothing special with rhubarb or wine…they just want the pure stuff around here.  They are addicts…going through a jar a week.  Now I may not be the best at math, but I figure that means 52 jars…yikes!  The batch I made today is equivalent to  a whopping 8 jars…Lord help me..yes, that is a real prayer.  While reading the instructions I became concerned because it says that the jars are only good for 6 to 8 months.  The idea of doing all this is so I can preserve fresh produce for the rest of the year.  I know many of my older family members use to can everything on their farms, I am sure they kept them for up to a year.  unfortunately they are all gone now, so I can not ask them what they did.  So I am turning to the bloggers to let me know what they do.  Please let me know if I can keep the jars longer, or what I can do to make sure they are good for a year. Thanks…

God Bless

Julia 

One thought on “The Canning Begins

Leave a Reply

