Challenge

We all have issues in our lives that are harder to deal with than others…challenges that we have had to battle most of our lives.  I have almost always had an issue with my weight.  i have taken a large leap for me by posting a photo of myself…it fills me with anxiety.  My weight is my greatest personal challenge.

When I was a child I put on weight  at about the age of nine just like most pre pubescent girls do.  Back in the 70’s parents were not as aware of health and body issues as we are now…so basically I’ve been on a, “diet,” since the age of nine.  All the yoyo dieting played havoc with my system…it has led me to be overweight most of my life…I am sure I have lost and gained several people by now.

The health issues of the last few years have made it obvious that I have to change my attitude and approach to my body issues. Health and not , have to be the focus for me.  So I have tried to ditch the meat, I’m trying to add daily exercise…ok that one is not going well…and I am paying more attention to the symptoms of my autoimmune disease.  If internal peace is my destination, then a more balanced attitude toward all parts of my life is the road to get there.  Wow…two heavy posts in a row…I better lighten up tomorrow..lol.

God Bless, Julia

12 thoughts on “Challenge

  1. I totally understand anxiety about putting yourself out there and thought I’d share a quote that helps put things into perspective for me. Hope it helps or at least makes you laugh 😉 “Life is not a journey to the grave with intentions of arriving safely in a pretty well-preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming … WOW! What a ride!”

  2. All the best to you. Since I hit 40, I’ve noticed it is much harder to lose any weight that I gain. I miss the days when I could eat anything! You mentioned auto immune, is it thyroid related?

      • Sorry to hear that. It’s a tough battle. Thyroid problems run in our family. I never knew how great a that gland plays in our body and mind.
        All the best to you.

  3. I don’t have any of those problems but I do have severe scoliosis. I do not have a weight issue but I have to be careful how much I eat or I will put on weight fast because I have a hard time execising and walking. But I rely on the Lord daily to get me through and I certainly have met a whole bunch of friends through blogging. Thank you for being a friend. Maybe someday all of us bloggers could have a great big get together. But for the mean time I will keep you in my prayers . You have a nice evening.

  4. Thanks for sharing Julia. It is hard to put yourself out there but I think you’ll find there are a lot of supportive people out in the blogging community. I do not have any health issues but I have found that by following the Paleo diet I feel better and have lost weight too (trying to get back into my pre-kids clothes). Good luck and don’t forget to stay active 🙂

  5. I’ve been overweight since puberty, so I can relate. It dawned on me just recently that I’ve been overweight most of my life. Such a weird realization. I don’t think of myself as “fat”, but I’m sure there are people who do think that about me. I also have a health issue which is exasperated by the weight, spine stenosis. Take care!

    • You take care as well…people who look at you and think about your weight are not worth you thinking about 🙂

  6. I hope you you do find inner peace and a healthier you! Keep putting one foot in front of the other. All in good time, all in good time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

