Cancer Not on a Bun

I am going to make a speech tonight at the Relay for Life Cancer Run, in Edmonton.  I’m glad that I am making this speech, because it is on behalf of all caregivers who have made the journey through the battle against cancer with a loved one.  I can make this speech because my loved one, survived.  When the journey started I was not so sure that I would be able to say that four years down the line…in fact the odds were greatly against this outcome…but, thank God, we all made it.  Not everyone I have helped on the journey through cancer…yes, there has been more than one…has survived, but as time goes on, the odds are getting better.  I have heard that 1 in 2 of us will get cancer in their lifetime, that statistic is frightening.

It takes a lot of people to fight cancer, on an individual level, and on a global level.  Just as it takes a village to raise a child, it takes a village to fight cancer.  There are a team on people…doctors, nurses, social workers, caregivers, family, friends, and especially the person who has the cancer…that have to work together to fight.  Sometimes we lose the fight, sometimes we win, but we must come to the fight prepared for battle…knowing that we are literally fighting for someone’s life.  If you are battling this disease right now, either because you have cancer, or you are helping someone who has cancer, my prayers are with you.  It is a long road full of lessons to learn, tears shed, feelings shared, and hopefully even some laughter…fight on my friends, fight on.

God Bless, Julia

7 thoughts on “Cancer Not on a Bun

  1. Cancer is a terrible thing to have not just the person but all involved. I am glad your loved one has pulled through,thank the dear Lord. Good luck in your speech tonight I am sure there will not be many dry eyes.

  2. Thank you for this post. I too fought the fight with my mother. We won the battle the first time, but not the second. She passed away just after Christmas 2005. It is very true that it takes a village to fight this disease.

Leave a Reply

