Best Friends

Facebook has taken the word, “friend,” and made it into nothing more than a computer click. When people find out who my best friend for the last fifteen years has been, they get this blank look on their faces…when they meet him they become truly baffled.  My best friend is a 6’6″ priest who grew up on a farm in Alberta…I am a 5’2″ lesbian artist from Montreal.  You would think that we would have almost nothing in common…country boy and city girl…can’t imagine my life without him.  The relationship with your best friend transcends the ordinary friendships of life in ways that can not be explained. 

Oh…You got to have friends…for those of you who are too young, they are words to a song.  I do not know what my life would have turned out like without friends.  More than likely I would not be around to muse about it in this post.  I watched my daughter jumping around yesterday with her best friend on a trampolene…they have been friends since they were four.  They have their own language, and they know how the other one is feeling without having to ask…they offer encouragement and hope for each other. I hope they are always friends. 

Today my best friend is going to present my daughter for confimationconfirm…eleven years ago he baptized her, and God willing, he will be around to perform her marriage ceremony.  He will be really old by then, because Claire is not allowed to date till she is 30, :)…but I pray that he is there. Thanks friend

God Bless, Julia

7 thoughts on “Best Friends

  1. I am 32 and have had the same amazing best friend since I was 7. FB is great for me to keep in contact with my mom and dad and the rest of my family in Ireland but it is a shame that we don’t get together face to face like we used too. On a side note… my 2.5 year old went on a trampoline for the first time on Saturday and LOVED it! I uploaded it as my picture of the day if you want to check it out.

Leave a Reply

