Shootings

When I woke up this morning I turned on the local morning news. There was a shooting at the University of Alberta, and at least three people are dead. When I was pregnant with my son 23 years ago, a shooter went into UQAM, a university in Montreal, and killed 14 female students.  My niece, and her husband, were studying at Virgina Tech when the shootings took place there.  Living in Canada…fourth on the list of most peaceful countries in the world…this does not happen often.  I have trouble understanding why these shootings happen.

I realise that the majority of the planet does not have peace.  I watch the news reports from Syria…children being used as human shields…and I think of my friend Yara who emigrated to Canada only a few years ago, and her young daughter.  I know that she still has six siblings, and parents, that live in Syria…my heart is heavy for her.  I do not understand the kind of hate that one must have in their heart to take another person’s life.  It does not matter the reason; politics, religion, insanity…there is no reason to take another life. 

At times when I feel like the world is a crazy senseless place I remember the people who live, or lived, for peace; Gandhi, Mother Teresa, the Dali Lama…they are the examples of the kind of life I want to live, and the world of peace that I pray for.

God Bless, Julia

One thought on “Shootings

Leave a Reply

