Pregnancy Brain

Everyone can relax, I’m NOT pregnant, I would be on the front of “Time” magazine if that were the case. It would say…”Oldest Pregnant Lesbian, Ever!”  Yesterday I was reminded, reading another blog, about how I lost 40 IQ points when I was pregnant with Claire.  I did not have this phenomenon, pregnancy brain, when I was pregnant with Scott…but with Claire, I could barely remember my name.  My wife has a saying for these circumstances, “I can count to potata.” It probably would not have been so bad if I had been unaware of the drop in intelligence…but sadly I noticed, as well as those around me.  I would get this look of concern, then they shake their heads and pat you on the back,”that’s ok, at least you’re pretty.”

I’m fairly sure I got those IQ points back after I gave birth…either that, or I have now dropped to a point during menopause were I just don’t care. 🙂  Menopause and pregnancy have a lot in common…your hormones are out of whack, you gain weight, you cry a lot, and the men in our lives will suffer too, just in a different way, lol 🙂

God Bless, Julia

3 thoughts on “Pregnancy Brain

  1. Did you hear me laugh out loud when I read the pic you included with this phenomenal post??? I was driving and I am pretty sure that other cars around me wondered about the source of the ruckus in their vicinity. Hy-ster-i-cal!!!! And I just love the entry. What is it about mommy brain? It took me longer than post-pregnancy to find it again, but I think I am officially back now (5 years later…). Great post. Love. It. 😉

Leave a Reply

