It’s Too Hot, But I’m Nice

Canadians are so nice.

In Northern Canada we spend about 9 months with the threat or inevitability of frost on the ground.  That leaves 3 months to squeeze in your outdoor living…camping, gardening, outdoor sports ect…  We enjoy our winters but lets face it when it is -30 C outside most of us are inside looking at those crazy people who are still out these instantly freezing various body parts. Right now we are in the thick of the warm weather, and you would think that we would be happier than a pig in a mud hole…but no, you see Canadians favorite pastime is to complain about the weather.

When standing in line waiting for your double double, (two creams and two sugars in your Tim’s coffee), you know that you can pass the time chatting with your neighbour about the latest weather report.  It will always be; too rainy, not enough rain, too hot, too cold, too windy, too humid, or too dry. Or…did you hear about that town that had a tornado, hail the size of golf balls, 2 feet of snow in the middle of summer, or 30 C in the middle of winter?

So no matter the time of year, we pleasant Canadians can be found griping about the weather.  Why do I bring this up you say?  Because  I would like to know why I have to can preserves, and dehydrate produce, when it is freaking sweltering in the kitchen?…that’s why.  Why don’t I have to do this during the other 9 months of the year, when I have the furnace going full blast, and I’m wearing long underwear just to check the mail.  On the other hand, if this is all I have to complain about, then I guess I’m pretty lucky…and that is why Canadians are so nice.

God Bless, Julia

7 thoughts on “It’s Too Hot, But I’m Nice

  1. What are you canning? I have to say the weather in the UK is decidedly temperate at the moment so suits most if not all culinary pursuits. A boringly average and overcast, as usual,18 C. Oh and that persistent drizzle that the Scots so aptly describe as ‘dreech” (Roll the R please). Happy canning in Canada. :0) ps thanks for stopping by.

    • My family has a definite sweet touch, so lots of jams, pie fillings, and other sweet things. I have made different kinds of pickles but they are still on the shelf at year end, so I don’t make those any more.

  2. If it makes you feel any better (because misery loves company, right?) most of the US is sweltering right now. We are in San Francisco where the weather is fine. Wish I could send some of it your way. Think cool thoughts!

    • Thank you…I have a sister who lives in Virginia…I know the weather has been horrible in most of the States. Glad you are in a place where the weather is good! 🙂

  3. What a great post! And another reason to know you are like a kindred spirit to me. As an Albertan I share your need to cram our outdoor living into three fast months! Yet my brother is being evacuated due to fires and now threat of floods in the US southwest. Brutal. So I guess I’ll take the crazy Alberta weather over unending heat waves and droughts. On a brighter note, thank you for the inspirations about canning. My raspberry crop is still just forming berries but it is going to be a bumper year! Look out jam jars, here I come! Hugs, Gina

    • My sister lives in Virginia so I know they are having a tough time down there. there are wild raspberry bushes all over the city so I go around and pick lots. check them out yesterday…another week and I will be making jam too 🙂

Leave a Reply

