Sweetaholic

Hello, my name is Julia and I am a sweetaholic…there I said it…I feel better now.  I’m not trying to make light of those people who have drug and alcohol addictions…believe me I’ve lived with people who have had both, and I know that it is a serious and horrible situation for the addict and their loved ones.  However I do believe that I am addicted to sugar, and that it has a negative impact on my health.  Anyone who knows me in person, knows that I need to lose weight…a lot of weight.  More than that though I need to get healthy…and I think the first thing I should do is cut out the sugar.

It is not going to be easy, because frankly, sugar is not an ingredient for me…it’s a food group.  Every morning I have at least two cups of tea with my breakfast…that tea includes loads of sugar.  It is accompanied by toast with, jam of course…and none of that low sugar jam either.  As the day progresses everything that I eat seems to have sugar in it.  What I do have to decide, is whether it is better to go cold turkey, or gradually reduce it…am I going to be jonesin for a hit of the white stuff at two o’clock? Am I going to be saying to Bernice, “give me my sugar or the dachshund gets it.”  Well, let me know if anyone else has tried to eliminate something from their diet…that is, if you lived to tell the tale, or you don’t risk imprisonment for the stuff you did while detoxing 🙂

God Bless, Julia

17 thoughts on “Sweetaholic

  1. Oh Julia, I am so there with you when it comes to white sugar. In my family I’m considered the “health guru” because of my own personal research and study in the areas of health and food (supplements, whole food vs. plastic wrappped heavily pharmaceuticized products – i.e. longevity, appearance etc.). So when they ask for my advice re: the above I try to respond with good answers. Having said that, the truth is I love white sugar. It has been a mainstay in my life since I was a little girl. In some parts of the planet it is considered poison. And even though I know it is not good for me, on an instant “feel good” level I can’t quite shake the habit. I use it lots less, and I upped my natural “sweet sources” as well as other good foods, but removing it completely….It’s hard, very hard.
    Oh and being more physical every day helps also. Loved your post with great empathy and understanding.

  2. Cheese. My problem is cheese. I used to crave sugar years ago though. I started eating a can of sweet peas or corn whenever I had a craving. I know it sounds wacky, but there were no cravings after cans. Good luck. You can do this. 🙂

  3. Good luck! My weakness is soda, particularly Dr. Pepper…I’ve given it up a few times now but somehow keep going back to it

  4. My father in law had a health scare last year with diabetes looming. He was a real sweet tooth, always had a bowl of lollies around, liked to eat icecream and tinned peaches for breakfast (!). And frequent very sweet cups of tea too! Anyway, he cut out sugar, and is doing really well — he looks a lot healthier too. His indulgence is wine, and he’d much rather forego the sweet dessert than not have a glass of wine (or three). As far as I know, he went cold turkey. So it can be done! Good luck with it …

  5. When it came to improving my health I had to do it a little at a time. I did, however, do something several months ago that proved interesting. I had always wanted to know if I had any allergies to certain food groups so I embarked on an 8-week program that I discovered while reading a book entitled Ultrametabolism, by Mark Hyman. I lost 10 lbs. in the process and cravings for foods that weren’t good for me. Good luck Julia. I know it isn’t easy.

  6. i’m not fat. i just need to lose 30lbs …
    can’t give up sugar in my tea though. i’m trying to cut it out one grain at a time. I can tell though. it’s going to be tough.

  7. Good Luck Julia! I guess my weakness is sugar too….I love junk food, debbie cakes, candy bars, honey buns, cake and more cake. Kicking the junk food habit is something that I have not be able to do, but I do try 🙂

  8. Cheese and salt. I rarely use sugar, but can understand what you are going through. It’s so hard to give things up. I did do a 3 month detox, got down to lemon juice for the last week. I actually cried during the last month, not wanting to see another fruit or vegetable again. I did have much more energy, I felt great. I slowly introduced foods back into my diet, and coffee. I felt worse the more I introduced, but I love food. Can’t help it. 😦

  9. Moderation is key. Do not go cold turkey it is way too hard. I am a Slovak and we like are pastries but try moderation and much prayer. I sure will pray for you.

Leave a Reply

