Social Media

Facebook, Twitter, Linkin, and God knows what else, are…according to some…the places to see and be seen…if that’s true, I’m in hiding.  I was never a fan of Facebook to start with, and now I’m suppose to have a Facebook Fanpage? Your fanpage should be linked to your twitter, linkin, and etsy accounts…or maybe it’s the other way around…damned if I know.  I went to the bookstore to get a book to decipher all of this, and the book was thicker than the phonebook. Not that anybody uses a phonebook anymore.

I heard my daughter’s best friend, Ann, talking about something someone had written on her wall.  She is 11 yrs old, so I thought she meant her bedroom wall…nope…she meant Facebook wall.  An 11 year old is more connected to the social media world then I am.  I remember thinking…many years back…that my mom was,” totally lame”, because she didn’t have a bankcard.  Now I wonder if my daughter is looking at me and thinking the same.

Do not get me wrong I’m not staying up nights worrying about this.  I’ll trudge along out at the periphery of the social media world, dipping my foot into the water. Frankly, I have better things to do than to spend hours a day supposedly connecting with others.  I’d rather go over to their house, sit down, and chat over a cup of tea. I think conversations should be more than 140 characters, typed while standing in line at the grocery store.

God bless,  Julia

20 thoughts on “Social Media

  1. yep, i don’t know how facebook and other social media sites took off. i had a facebook page briefly thinking i would reconnect with family and i got so bored of reading mundane statuses about how they are washing dishes, folding clothes, that i deleted it. if i want that much info about your everyday life, i can just come over

  2. thanks for liking my recent post, and a special thanks for bringing me here. Seems like I am going to enjoy exploring your blog further. Hope you will find the time to explore mine as well and find something of inspiration or assistance along your own life’s journey. Or maybe just some nice photos!! 🙂 If you like travel photos, you might also like to check out my India Journals: http://janesindiajournals.wordpress.com
    with love light and JOY

  3. I use Facebook… sometimes LOL It’s a good way of keeping in touch with people you don’t have regular contact with… I also use it as a means of recording some events in my life, as a way of complementing my blog for my son. Twitter? Nah, not really my thing…

  4. I agree with you Julia. I am told that to improve my WP ratings (more hits) I should get a Twitter account but I spend enough time in front of the computer already. I just can’t bring myself to do it.

  5. I was going to unplug from this infernal contraption today but my mother-in-law wanted me to check and see if I could open something she emailed me! Here I am, over an hour later, still here….grrrr lol! Lately the media has been so depressing I just haven’t wanted to plug in.

  6. hi julia, thanks for checking out and following my glasswench page. just want to make a comment here about randome things on your site, lol. the wonder woman ring, i neeeeed it, how can i get it? 50 shades book: i just posted on my facebook page a rant about these books and the dumbing down of our daughters (or other peoples daughters as I don’t have kids), so I feel ya. i agree with you about socail media, but with my business (my day job, not glass) i find that having a FB page and website and yelp presence are useful tools. I absolutely get business through them. as for linked in and the twitter, i agree with you.

    • The WW ring is on my etsy site: juliachristineglass.etsy.com, there is also a pendant if you would prefer it. I may hate social media but I grudging have to use it, 🙂

  7. I tried twitter. It wasn’t for me. Never joined all the other ones. Pinterest had my interest until I found that you have to have a twitter or FB to join it. No thanks!

  8. LOL! I’m a social media addict, and I still don’t know all the ins and outs of it all. I created and maintained the FB pages for my last two jobs, and I’ve just taken over maintenance of my new employer’s FB page . I’ve found that twitter isn’t that useful unless your fans are on there constantly. FB is still where it’s at. LinkedIn is really more for business networking. Pinterest is growing but I haven’t figured out how to make it an effecting marketing tool.

    If you have any questions, I can try to help 🙂

    • Yeah I now have a “social media go to person” thanks…just kidding I wont bother you with all kinds of stupid questions 🙂

      • There are no stupid questions! I used to say that when I talked to patients in the optometry clinics I worked for, and I say it now to the people I train. If you want to get a sense of what I do with fan pages, look up Visual-Eyes Software (my current work), Ottico Vancouver and Lynn Valley Optometry (the two pages I used to run – you’ll have to go back about 2 years for the former and 1 year for the latter). Please feel free to ask any questions…for me it’s a very fine line between a labour of love and an addiction. LOL!

Leave a Reply

