I’m So Crafty

The latest pair of earrings

I know what you’re thinking…does she mean that she is devious, or she likes to do crafts…I mean the second one.  I’ve always liked doing crafts, I think I have dabbled in almost every popular one out there.  I sewed my seventh grade graduation dress, I knitted and crocheted clothes for both of my children, I’ve made a quilt or two, I have even been known to make candles.  the first night of the very first stained glass course I took I knew that I had found the one. The one that makes you dream about colors and textures, of hording piles of materials in your basement, hidden, so the spouse will not know how much you really have. I have not yet got to the point where I start hiding things in the trunk of the car, but I`m getting there.

I can’t help it…the beautiful glass shimmering in the window as the light passes through, changing and evolving as the sun changes its direction.  And of course there is the texture…running your hand over the glass and feeling the undulating waves.  I’m starting to think this is like fifty shades of grey glass…actually grey glass is not very nice. How about fifty shades of purple glass…no, purple is too expensive, they have to use gold to get the warm colors. It will have to be fifty shades of green glass…yeah, I love green. I understand that not everyone shares my love of glass, well sort of.  The way I figure it, everyone feels that way about their chosen craft. I hope you have found yours.

God Bless, Julia

5 thoughts on “I’m So Crafty

  1. Reading your posts about your stained-glass craft brings back wonderful memories of my beloved friend Barbara, also an artist in mosaics and stained-glass, who passed away last year, much too soon. Thanks!

  2. Beautiful earrings — I am a wire bender and make a variety of jewelry myself. Your comment: “the beautiful glass shimmering in the window as the light passes through” is exactly why I’ve shifted away from acrylic beads in my work and towards glass/crystal. I like making tree of life sun catchers with wire hanger frames. Each night I have a butterfly who tries to pollinate the blue star I made lol….poor thing bumping up against the window to get to it. We took it down, he/she stopped, put it back up and business as usual lol. Making stain glass is the ultimate in capturing light with color!

  3. “The one that makes you dream about colors and textures, of hording piles of materials in your basement, hidden, so the spouse will not know how much you really have.”

    I laughed at this and thought of my fabric stash in the basement in boxes marked, “Blankets” which isn’t totally untrue since I’ve decided to start quilting. And yes, I’ve hidden fabric in the car a few times.

Leave a Reply

