Mommy, They’re Scaring Me

OK, I admit it, that title is an exaggeration…but I do wonder about the world of Etsy sometimes.  I’ve had a shop for less than three months so I am still in the learning, figuring things out, stage…but I have some concerns.  Now we have to be quiet, because if they hear me over at the Etsy site, I am going to get inundated by nasty comments from those super sellers.  I understand that it takes a lot of work to be successful on Etsy…there are so many artists on there, it is hard for anyone to see your work.  So some people have taken to rather extreme measures to make sure that their work is seen by the buyer first.  I understand this, they’re trying to make a living, but I draw the line at unethical practices and badgering other sellers. I have not been on the receiving side of any of these practices, yet…I’m still a little fish in a huge pond…I do not pose a threat.

For me, my Etsy shop is a place where I can sell small things that I have made as a way of expressing myself.  Don’t get me wrong, it does bring out the competitor in me…but I try to remember that my “real” work is my stained glass installations. I’ve asked myself that, if my Etsy shop were my sole means of income, would I resort to unethical measures to promote myself and increase sales? I hope not, but one never knows what one would do if faced with having to provide for a family, with no other income. I would like to think that I would find another way to provide, something that does not compromise the things I believe in…playing fair, loving your neighbour, and being the person God wants you to be, just to name a few.

God Bless, Julia

10 thoughts on “Mommy, They’re Scaring Me

    • nothing illegal, lol, just bad mouthing, renewing items every day to keep them at the top of searches, or befriending you only if you promote their items regularly.

  1. Wow. I was wondering about that stuff. I loaded Etsy with jewelry still in the draft stage. I was thinking about promoting my store locally and offering polishing services as part of the deal – a way for locals to redeem their packaging fees. I’m not into all the internet hype either. I do need to make a decent income from some kind of store, but it’s so difficult.
    Congratulations on your award. Your blog is still my fav. 🙂

  2. Probably 10+ years ago, i did a lot of selling on eBay of handcrafted items. That was before etsy existed. I think i experienced some of the frustration you are now. Eventually word-of-mouth and offline advertising grew my business, as well as having a website away from eBay that would show up in search engines and link people to my eBay listings. Those are things you might consider? I couldn’t rely on just eBay traffic alone because i didn’t have the time, money, or the will to invest in keeping my listings at the top like some of the (dare i use the word) “cheaters” did. Ebay has changed a lot over the decade, and so have i!, and i’m no longer selling. I’ve considered trying etsy but have heart complaints similar to yours. I do wish you the best though. And…i just bookmarked your shop to browse when i have a bit more time. =)

    • That is very sweet of you. I realise that there are times when one is in business that things can be done that border on the unethical…everyone has their own line to cross, or not cross. 🙂

Leave a Reply

