Menopause and Summer

Our house is so hormonal these days…two lesbians in menopause, and a little girl in puberty…it’s not safe for anyone. Mood swings are the norm not the exception. I’m pretty sure there is a scientist somewhere who would love to study us. They could put us in one of those Big Brother houses with cameras everywhere. It would be like a zoo, people could walk by pointing and laughing at us fighting over the thermostat.

Yes, we have always fought over the heating in the house. I went into menopause first, so I have always been hot even when it’s minus 30 outside. The other two would complain about the icicles in the washroom. This year two of us will be hot,and poor Claire is destined to freeze for nine months.

In northern Canada you need the heating on for nine months of the year, it’s a great place to live when you’re menopausal…everyone else?…not so much.

God Bless, Julia

20120818-083255.jpg

7 thoughts on “Menopause and Summer

  1. “I’m pretty sure there is a scientist somewhere who would love to study us.” Haha – this made my mind flash to Big Bang Theory where Sheldon “studies” Penny. We have thermostat wars here too. I’d swear my husband was going through menopause if he was a girl. Right now he is in just workout shorts with two fans blowing on him and the rest of us are huddled under a heavy stadium blanket. It’s August for pete’s sake! Be sure to buy your daughter a few of those, fingerless gloves, and a couple pairs of slippers! She’s got a hard few months ahead.

  2. “Our house is so hormonal these days…two lesbians in menopause, and a little girl in puberty…it’s not safe for anyone”

    LOL! That cracked me up 🙂 I think it’s best if I simply leave it at that 😛

  3. Made me chuckle Julia as this conjures quite the image LOL. It would make for hilarious reality television! Guess there will be sweater shopping for Claire!

  4. That is absolutely hilarious. I’m kind of glad to be going through menopause in a house full of men. They give me a wide berth when I need it and never question when my sanity slips every now and then. My poor brother-in-law lives in a house of women. We have told him he can hide out here. The basement is turning into a geek’s version of a man cave. I feel your pain!

    • My best friend is a guy. His wife started menopause about five years ago, and it also is a house full of men. They came up with a secret signal that could alert each other to impending danger. He also has a saying, happy wife, happy life. lol

Leave a Reply

