Make Yourself Happy

So I have made a list of things that make me happy…some I can share, some…I can not.  It was easy to start the list, the obvious; my wife, family, friends, art work, my children (most of the time 🙂 ).  However it became harder after the obvious are taken care of.  Like many people, most of the time I’m busy trying to avoid the things that make me unhappy. Then there are all the things that make me happy, but, maybe they are not so good for me…where did all the chocolate go? There are the things that I know in the end will make me happy, but wow, are they a lot of work…you want me to lose how much weight?

When I was younger…and sometimes now…I thought that the best thing to do was to put others first. Now I believe that if I don’t care for myself, then I wont be around to help anyone else. It is easy to forget about yourself when you have small children around, because they need so much care. as they age, and quite frankly don’t want you anywhere near them, it’s easier to gain some perspective. there is nothing wrong with locking the bathroom door, honest. Claire would throw herself against the door, screaming and telling me how she was dying…she is a little melodramatic. If I didn’t lock the door for 30 seconds I would have never had a moment to myself in five years. It is not selfish to take care of yourself…so take care of yourself.:)

God Bless, Julia

7 thoughts on “Make Yourself Happy

  1. Perfect. I always compare this to the advice given on airline safety demonstrations….put your own oxygen mask on first. You can’t help anyone else until you do. 🙂

  2. I grew up always giving to others first, because that is what I thought I should do. When I discovered that we should put ourselves first, there was a lot of guilt involved for me. Now that I have (for the most part), it is amazing how much I have available for others. Very wise words Julia. 🙂

  3. “Now I believe that if I don’t care for myself, then I wont be around to help anyone else. It is easy to forget about yourself ” ditto here Julia! I think this is a common thing with women.

Leave a Reply

