Oh You’ve Got To Have Heart

I spend a lot of time pretending that there is nothing wrong with me…it’s easier to get through the day that way…most of the time.  Eventually it catches up to you though…first God whispers, then he knocks, then he knocks you out.  I’m stubborn, He seems to have to knock me out most of the time. This coming week I have to spend two days in the hospital having tests done on my heart. One thing about having sarcoidosis is that you just never know where it is going to rear its ugly head. I know where the sarcoid has been…lungs, lymph nodes, thyroid, skin…but I’m not sure where it is going.

The point is I really can not afford to ignore my health any longer…that is if I want to live a life worth living. So what to do?…well I could stand to lose a few dozen pounds. I could find an exercise that I can do without an Achilles tendon in my right leg. I could improve my diet, and stop eating processed foods. I could go back to doing daily meditation, and add in some yoga. I don’t want to become a health nut, I just want to live the best life I can, so I can be with the people I love. In the end that is all there is.

God Bless, Julia

13 thoughts on “Oh You’ve Got To Have Heart

  1. Nothing like having your health in jeopardy to knock the wind out of your sails. But sometimes a wake up call is just what you need. You know what you need to do…now go do it. Set a goal, make a plan and change. Believe in yourself. I lost my dad to a massive heart attack – he knew he needed to make changes but waited too long. If you need help, I’m here.

  2. You’re in my prayers Julia, and I agree with another of your commenters – baby steps. The road ahead will feel less daunting but it will be so worth it. 🙂

  3. Just keep doing your very best and that is all you can do. It’s so difficult because you never know when it’s going to pop up… just be you and do the things that you love to do. Relax because you know what needs to be done, just take baby steps to get there. Blessings – Melissa

  4. Just take it one day at a time and don’t be too hard on yourself. If you like being in a pool, aquafit is so much fun and it’s usually all ladies in a class (which I love). Nothing like not even knowing you’re sweating and it would be easy on your leg. Good luck and best wishes!

  5. I have many things I know I need to do to keep myself healthy, but sometimes it’s easier said than done, especially when life gets in the way of your good intentions. I have to remind myself of the good things I’m doing, and tell myself I’m doing good even when I’m not to help inspire myself to do good with my health. And remember, health is the true treat of life! Sending prayers your way and yes, don’t be too hard on yourself!

Leave a Reply

