Going Au Natural

In my pursuit of a life with less chemicals in and on my body, I decided to try to make my own lib balm.  Living in northern Canada, the winter months can reek havoc on the skin and lips.  Each winter, everyone in my house gets chapped lips, at least once.  I found a recipe that called for only a few ingredients, and was supposed to sooth and heal your lips.  I can tell you that, it is easy to make, certainly less expensive than commercial products, and it feels, smells, and tastes great…not that I’m trying to eat it 🙂 I took some photos and have included the recipe.

 

adding the ingredients to the pot

 

 

ice-water bath

 

 

 

Wearing my new lip balm

 

 

 

Two colors of pink

 

 

Soothing and Healing Lip Balm

4 tablespoons of castor oil

1 tablespoon beeswax

2 teaspoons of honey

20 drops peppermint essential oil

On a very low heat warm the oil, beeswax, and honey just until the wax melts.  Remove from heat and add the peppermint essential oil and stir in. Place the pot in an ice-water bath…a bowl filled with cold water and a few ice cubes. Continue stirring until it thickens.  it will continue to thicken over the next few hours.  If you would like to add a little color, simply added a little bit of an all natural lipstick…I had some on hand so I added just a tiny bit to the main batch, and then more for my own because I wanted more color.

Spoon the mixture into a small containers…I used small containers that I had for storing beads. It should make about seven tablespoons.  Each of my containers held 1 tablespoon. I adapted a recipe was originally printed in, ”Organic Body Care Recipes,” by Stephanie Tourles. This book is excellent, lots of recipes for the body and soul. 🙂

God Bless, Julia

13 thoughts on “Going Au Natural

  1. I was afraid to read this one… Bwahaha! (Au Natural!) I love making homemade soap. It isn’t super easy, but it’s well worth the time and energy! It takes about 2 hours to make, and then a month to cure. I love the way it cleans! (Plus I know what’s in it!)

  2. Thanks for the recipe. As I have been finishing up products such as lotion, shampoo, etc. I have been replacing them with clean, much less expensive products that I make. I had not made lip balm yet so this was perfect timing! 🙂

  3. Ooh, I’m excited about this recipe, Julia! I never wear lipstick any more because it does dry out my lips, I can never find a colour that looks good, & don’t want to waste time checking out expensive ‘balms’ in the store.

    I can adjust the ingredients if needed for my coastal climate & adjust the soft colour to suit me! Thanks so much. Yup, still IOU email — soon. 😉

  4. Pingback: Fast and Easy Beauty Fixes – articles4friends

Leave a Reply

