Pre-Teen Skin

Claire is officially a pre-teen as she closes in on 12 years on this earth. I knew this, so of course I knew that the dreaded day of the appearance of the first pimple was imminent. With this in mind, I went in search of a,”natural,” toner for her to use along with the dreaded Clearasil…no I do not own stock, but I should. I found this simple skin toner…so this morning as she came down the stairs with an enormous bright red spot right on the end of her nose, it was time to bring out the arsenal.  If you have a pre-teen, teen, or you still suffer from this skin issue…if it has reappeared because of menopause, ugh!…maybe this recipe from, ”Organic Body Care,”  can help you.

Acne Astringent

2 cups distilled water

1 Tablespoon yarrow

1 tablespoon chamomile flowers

6 drops rosemary oil

In a small saucepan bring water to a boil, remove from heat. Add the other ingredients and let steep 30 min. strain the mixture and put in a jar for safe keeping. Refrigerate, lasts one week.

God Bless, Julia

4 thoughts on “Pre-Teen Skin

  1. I have suffered from acne from severe to not-so-bad since fourth grade (now 25). I love the Simple brand toner. As far as face washes, I highly suggest, after my many years of going through everything, is the Cetaphil face cleanser. It is a little more expensive, about $9-10 but it is a much larger container and last way longer. It is much more gentle on skin than the harsh acne washes and I have had better results. My daily skin care is Cetaphil wash, Simple toner, and Neutrogena on-the-spot treatment, You can treat acne just in the spot you are suffering from or place a thin layer on whole face to prevent. I suggest using the acne treatment just at night as it is better to soak in without daily makeup or dirt. Also, I would highly suggest moisturizers now to prevent scarring (with sunscreen). There are great references on Acne.com!

    • Wow thank you so much, it is a difficult subject sometimes as people a very self concious about their skin issues. 🙂

Leave a Reply

