Small Changes, Week 1

I am still struggling to make changes in the way my family and I live, making small steps toward a healthier life. I now understand how hard it is to work 40+ hours a week, manage a home, family, and try to be, “healthy.” I am giving myself a break by taking small steps in hope that we can stay with the changes and not feel like it is a burden. Each week I will make one small change in the way we eat, the products we use, (going natural), and the amount, and kind, of excercise we get. Hopefully by the end of a year our lives will look totally different…and we will all feel totally different.

This week we are eliminating red, and processed meats, from our diet. We live in Alberta…this is beef country…vegetarians are on the same level as communists and lesbians here, lol. With the beef recall of XL Foods looming over this province, it is not that hard to see myself and my family choosing to eliminate red meat. Eliminating chicken may take a little more time…until last year we told Claire all the meat we served her was chicken, it was the only way she would eat it, (bad mommy, very bad mommy, lol). So I guess for Claire it won’t be that hard, after all she has only been eating it for a year in her mind, 🙂

God Bless, Julia

8 thoughts on “Small Changes, Week 1

  1. I completely understand, I live in the middle of farming country. Here people grew up drinking fresh milk right from the cow and believe animal products are a need to be healthy. I struggle to bite my tongue when “good” friends start to make snide comments. I just live one day at a time. Good luck with your journey to be healthier.

  2. For me, I’m obsessed with pasta and am trying to eliminate it from my diet which is a struggle but I saw on “Pinterest” that if you replace your pasta for spaghetti squash or another type of shredded squash, you eventually won’t miss pasta anymore. I’m trying it though I’m smothering it with fatty cheese goodness, so I’m not sure how healthy I’m actually being hahaha!

  3. Pingback: “RED MEAT IS BAD” TELL IT TO THE ESKIMOS! : Dr. Pinna

  4. I’m wishing you the best as you and your family go through these changes in your lives. Taking it slowly is a good thing to do. Totally eliminating foods and going in a different direction, often, leads to back sliding and not getting out of the habit. Good for you!

    Leslie

  5. I really want to become a vegetarian… someday 😉 I don’t think it’s bad to eat meat, just that we do it way too much. I would have a rule only on sundays and in restaurants. The problem is I just love food too much, It’s the one thing you can cound on to make you happy. Here in the Netherlands being a vegatarian is completely normal, and every restaurant has a few vegatarian dishes and every school provides food with no meat. (Along with no-pork sausages 😉 ) Sorry I haven’t reacted so much the last time (or ever) Stupid exams!

Leave a Reply

