Blessings

Yesterday, November 26, 2012, the Anglican Church of Canada, Edmonton region, performed the first blessing of a same sex marriage. It was my wife Bernice and I who were the lucky ones. I personally have been waiting for this for about thirty years, and I truly believed that it might not happen for me.

When we stood before friends, family, and our parish family, the priest…my best friend…actually blessing us, I was filled with such a sense of joy and peace. I was moved beyond words.

I need to thank everyone who made the blessing a reality. All those who voted yes, the leadership that made the resolution possible, and those that endured…and continue to endure…insult, and bullying. Please know that the choice you made was the right one.

God Bless, Julia

20121126-210636.jpg

3 thoughts on “Blessings

Leave a Reply

