New Year, New Me…Yeah Right!

971I do love to make changes at the beginning of the year…its like there is a blank slate that you can imagine all kinds of possibilities for your life on. I do not make resolutions.  I do make a list of changes that I would like to make…not horribly hard ones, more like nudges in the right direction. They are things that I have been thinking about over the last year that I believe might make my everyday life easier. They are not resolutions, because it is not an all or nothing, win or lose, sort of thing. I see January first as a day off to get your sh** together…a global reorganization day.

I write my resolutions, changes, down in a journal…a nice new one…because writing things down seems to make them more concrete. Then I think about how I can make the change into smaller, more manageable tasks…you eat an elephant one bite at a time. If I’m feeling really ambitious I might even add a time line for myself. One year I was so determined, I typed them out on cue cards, laminated them, and kept them together with a ring closure so I could carry them around…ok, that’s too much.

I do this reorganization thing at another time of year as well…back to school time.  It is likely that I feel this ways then as well, because so much of my life has been spent in a classroom…whether as a student, or a teacher. I believe that everyone can learn and grow and change. Everyone can learn to love and be loved, to be kind, and respectful to themselves and others. The problem being, some people have more growing to do than others :>.

God Bless, Julia

7 thoughts on “New Year, New Me…Yeah Right!

  1. I like this. I have decided that I will make macro resolutions. No a huge thing to do, but smaller easier to handle tasks. My big goal this year is to get fitter and healthier. The macro job? Make an effort to do just a bit each day. Each week I have a goal. Small bites. Big results.

  2. I’m with you. Changes, not resolutions. Though I plan to be resolute in my changes…. I will eat less but drink more; it’s a balance thing, yes? I also plan to get my crafty sh!t together, so I can update my blog and actually reply to blogs instead of just reading and having a warm fuzzy glow. Oh look, one box ticked! Happy new year! X

Leave a Reply

