Family Dinner

ImageAs a child my family always came together at the end of the day to eat dinner.  Don’t get me wrong…I do not look back at my childhood fondly remembering how much better it was then. It would be a much better memory if I had been sitting down to dinner with someone else’s family, ;>. But you get what you get, and I prefer to look at it for the few positives that it gave. It did give us all a chance to reconnect with each other…and especially for the parents to stay connected and interested in their teenager’s lives. The family’s values beliefs, and culture were shared around the table as part of the conversation and the food.

With this in mind…I bought a new dining room table. A big move in our house as we have not really had a dinning room at all for the last few years. As I work from home most of the time, and my wife has a hobby that takes up a lot of space, (you wouldn’t think scrapbooking would involve so much space, but it does in our house, :>)…our lives had taken over the dinning room for what seemed like more important needs. so with a little rearranging, and the moving of heavy furniture, I claimed space for the table.

So almost evening for the last three weeks we have gathered around the table to break bread together.  I love it!…we now say grace again before our meals, we talk about our days, and laugh out loud about it.  I’ve even tried some “traditional Scottish foods,” never going near haggis though. Robby Burns day is coming up…maybe I should plan a little scottish food…no haggis!…and Guiness for the grown ups. The Jamie Oliver cookbook I got for Christmas is going to come in handy.

As a side note, I love the name of Jamie Oliver’s children; Daisy, Poppy, Petal, and Bud…three girls and a boy…too cute.

God Bless, Julia

7 thoughts on “Family Dinner

  1. 🙂 I love the table my family gathers around every night. It’s almost 18 years old now. It’s scraped, scratched, stained, worn in many places, has seen countless meals, projects, homework, tears and laughter. My kids tell me it’s time for a new one but not a chance I tell them; this table has earned it’s spot in my home forever! Enjoy your new family gathering place Julia! Great post.

  2. I wholeheartedly agree, Julia. Although our lives were filled with abuse, dinner was the one time my five brothers & sisters & I could be together as a unit. As a mother, I bought my grandmother’s wonderful old dining set from my mother [yes, she made me pay $250] for me & my 3 sons to enjoy fun-filled & insightful dinners where we discussed everything — from what they were doing in school to using condoms! Now, as a grandmother, I’ve handed down this memory-filled dining set to one of my sons [no, I didn’t make him pay!] to enjoy prized dinner discussions with his child. Thanks for a wonderful post & enjoy your dinner fun.

    • hmmm you sure we don’t have the same mom? lol I still owe you a piece of stained glass…I’m thinking something fused like a dish for your table…what do you think?

  3. Jamie’s got 4 kids now, I lost track after the second one.
    I love the dining table, I have made it a firm rule that we spend that time together, no TV, as my kids are getting older and hubby is away for work. It is our family connection time. As is the washing up, no dishwasher here.

  4. We used to hava our meals around the table too, but when me and my siblings grow older and had more to do… This good habit faded slowly.
    I wish I could do the same with my own family when we move to our own house someday.
    For now, I just enjoy having my meals at the table when I visit my parent 🙂

Leave a Reply

